top of page
  • pandafootprint

The Library Transformation


by Etele Solomontchik    


In my speech during the Presidential election in 2017/2018, I shared that one of my ideas for the following year is to renovate our library and turn it into a reading corner. After I became the President, I had a lot of discussions with Mrs Anna Mara and I found out that I wasn’t the only student who wanted to change our library. Barleen Kaur, our Graduate of 2018, had some ideas on the new design for the library and wanted to take part in building the reading corner. All three of us had several meetings where we would discuss the design, concept, colors, plan and decide where to start. 


Our goal  was to make our library multifunctional, so students of different ages can come in and spend time choosing books and reading as well as a new working space for Student Council members and TED Talk classes. Barleen had prepared 3D sketches and I started writing a Business Proposition. We needed to buy shelves, pillows, bean bags, some painting supplies, and a clock. Also we were hoping that a placement of the carpet and the painting of the walls would be possible with the school’s permission. Barleen and I took a couple of trips to IKEA and OBI together to find all the materials and furniture needed. 







During the summer vacation after a lot of preparation, the big renovation started. A team of Student Council members was gathered to help. Together we were constructing and painting the shelves, sanding down and repainting racks, and cleaning the library. Thank you to Vitaly Stolyarchuk, Helen Ngo, Esther Burungibwe, Le Gia Bao Han, Ethan Jordan, Ishika Malhotra, and Rushdifa Khan for contributing your time! 


 “The entire process, the thoughts, the details, the final outcome, absolutely everything shows how teamwork "WORKS". Redecorating the library was one of the best memories I have had of school and the fact that the room is used and loved makes me emotional. I feel like a huge part of me is still in school. This experience and the fact that I got an opportunity to help was a huge win for me because I learned a lot.” - Barleen Kaur





Now there is a Reading Cafe lead by Ms Christy Brizendine at the reading corner for students of the younger grades. Ms Christy reads books and the students also get to pick a book they are interested in and read it during the lesson. Even during quarantine the Reading Cafe lessons continue. Thank you, Ms Christy, for your amazing work at the Reading Cafe! 


"When you open a book you have the opportunity to enter another world, to learn new things and share and experience adventures with the characters in that book. I am so glad that we have been able to expand and develop the school’s library this year. It is and will continue to be a wonderful place for our students to learn! " - Ms Christy Brizendine

I am very proud of the fact that together with Barleen we were able to leave something for the school. Thank you, Barleen, for being a great partner to work with in this amazing project! I also would like to give a big thank you to Mrs Anna Mara and Mr Len Stolyarchuk for helping this project come to life.


Shoutout by Mrs Anna Mara:

And now we also get to use this place as a meeting room for our Student Council! Isn't it great? So many crazy brainstorms and other activities happened there, this place will always know you as its first inhabitants!











11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page