top of page
  • pandafootprint

What You Need To Know Before Running For President


by Etele Solomontchik

“ The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” - a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt that has always inspired me... 

Back in 2016, I just changed schools and moved over from Australia to Russia. “New school equals new life” , I thought. I wasn't wrong. After I got accepted to Student Council the world around me seemed to change. I was always shy and quiet. It's not like I'm completely different now, but I definitely can say that Student Council helped me find my voice. Having various roles throughout the years taught me different lessons and skills, and I’m thankful for that experience. Being Head of the Media Committee, then President, then Secretary, and finally the Vice-President was a rather bizarre journey. I wanted to share my journey as President of Student Council 2017/2018 with you and also give various tips that might make your experience as President easier. 


1) “It always seems impossible until it’s done”

 

Remember that nothing is impossible. If you have a lot of ideas, but you are doubting yourself, don’t be afraid. Set a goal and figure out how to achieve it step-by-step. That can apply to absolutely anything whether it is running for President during the elections, organizing an event, or planning for the year ahead. I ran for President at the age of 14 with only half a year of experience prior in Student Council. If being honest, I didn't know exactly what I was doing or what I was getting myself into. I had many ideas and some of them seemed absolutely impossible to accomplish, but with persistence and dedication anything can be achieved. 





2) Note Taking 


Even though there is a Secretary in Student Council I would highly recommend that you take notes during all meetings yourself as well. It will be helpful because that way you can analyze all of the information and plan ahead whenever you need to. It is also more convenient to have a planner diary or keep all your notes in a file. That way everything stays organized and makes it easier to find the right notes. I as well had a planner diary that I took to every meeting where I would write down key points and any new ideas that I would come up with later after school. 






3) Be Ready! 


After you become President, be ready that the responsibility for most of the work will be on you. It is your duty to be one step ahead at all times. Student Council is a team, but if someone doesn’t do their work the responsibility will lie on you. That is why it is important to make sure others are on track. If you understand that something isn't going the right direction, don’t be afraid to discuss the issue and find alternatives together. 





4) Crazy times 


If you wanted to become the President and you achieved that, be ready for the “crazy times”. Remember that not everything goes smoothly. There will be moments when you will just have to jump in and help out even if you weren't expecting it at all. Sometimes you will be faced with problems that come out of nowhere and it will be in your hands to act quickly and always have a plan B in your head. There was one situation that happened during Thanksgiving Chapel for the Junior Classes that I remember vividly. Now I laugh remembering it, but back then I can guarantee you it didn’t seem funny at all. The candy, that served as prizes for the students, finished and even though the Treasurer of that year, Michael Stafeev, and I had a Chemistry class, we had to act fast, so we took the money and ran to the nearest shop during the Chapel to buy more sweets. Thankfully, we returned back on time, and everyone received their prizes. To be honest it wasn't the only fun story I have to tell ;) Here's a video of Vice-President 2016-2017 Bui Thi Truc Quynh, Ms Anna, and me grating coconuts for Asian Snack Bazaar at the Teacher's Cafeteria in the evening...(Mr Jordan, thank you for the advice!)




5) Stress 


Obviously you will be in High school where you are already faced with many responsibilities. Your journey as the President may become stressful and sometimes overwhelming. That’s why I highly recommend that you take breaks and not judge yourself for any mistakes you make. No one is perfect. Remember that everyone makes mistakes and it only depends on you if you will hang on to those moments or let them go and learn from them. 




6) Ask for Help 


Although sometimes it might seem like it, you don’t need to solve everything by yourself. If you feel too much pressure or you aren’t sure of something, don’t be afraid to ask for help. Remember you are never alone! Now I realize that sometimes because I would be lacking some of the skills I would be afraid to ask for help and thought that I had to do everything myself. Please do not repeat my mistake. 





7) Studies OVER Student Council 


I'm sorry to break it to you, but...one of the most difficult things EVER is to find the balance between studying and Student Council. This is something you constantly have to remember. The way you will use your time and the decisions you make will depend on you only. I highly encourage you to think about education first no matter what. The year I was the President was very difficult for me. I had Honor Roll to finish, and 9th grade Russian Exams to complete. Looking back at my experience, I regret that sometimes I put Student Council above my studies. I’m thankful that I learned my lesson and I highly advise you to never make the same mistake as me. 




8) Have Fun 


As my last tip, I hope you remember to simply have fun and enjoy the time you have. Despite all the work that needs to be done, don’t forget to cherish each moment. At times I was too serious. Now I wish I had a different mindset as the President and had more fun with it. 





Student Council was truly one of the highlights of my high school experience. Even the biggest challenges that I have faced I will remember as great life lessons for the future. Being the President of Student Council isn’t about being perfect and making zero mistakes. It’s about learning life lessons and growing as a person.

 

...All this time I have continued to believe in the beauty of my dreams. I hope that all Presidents of Student Council in the future will keep believing in the beauty of their dreams as well. Good luck! 







12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page