top of page
  • pandafootprint

Why Become A Student Council Member?


by Asya Sapozhnikova


I remember my first day in the Student Council. I had a lot of different emotions and feelings. I was a little bit shy and frightened, but mostly I was excited. I didn't know a lot about the Student Council or what it means to be a part of it. But the friendly atmosphere made it much easier. For more than three years, I was a member of the Labor Committee. 


I have learned a lot of important lessons during my work in the Student Council. Now I understand how it feels when your deadlines are burning and you are only halfway to getting your project done. Sometimes it was hard because I didn’t have enough time. But whether I had trouble or I needed some advice, my friends and Mrs. Anna were there to help me. Working as a team taught me, that there’s no shame in asking for help. 


Most people in our school know me for my artwork and decor. My job was to decorate the rally hall for ceremonies and celebrations. Also, some of the younger students might know me for my comics. As an illustrator, I participated in the creation of our school newspaper. The Student Council gives you lots of opportunities to express yourself. When I was younger, I couldn't believe that my art would be published in a newspaper! So I want to say that it is a great community to be a part of. You can become a member of Student Council not simply because you might have good grades, or because Mrs. Anna said so, but for yourself. 


Here you can check out some of my work for the Student Council and R.O.O.T.S. Newspaper!






19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page